My New Vocabulary

Later I learned that it’s called pulling focus
When the hero hits his knees and cries “Nooo!” to the sky
Your golden scrawl in a brown paper bag
The very best valentine i’ve ever had
The world was all mumbles and your eyes magnified

Just paper and ink, your name and a heart
Stuck in a jumble of scarves, hats and mittens
Playgrounds are a cruel to place to discover desire
I only learned later what desire required
But at the time I was brand new to the word “smitten”

Are all my bodyparts in the right place?
Thank God the bell rang and I made my escape
Too many knees left to scrape, goldfish and grapes
Pretending I was wishing that I‘d blossom too late

The daffodils died I tried hard to hide
But soon the entire neighborhood knew
You haunted my driveway to their amusement
Our bodies, all permanent on the warm pavement
But I was soon about to learn the word “rue”

I blinked only twice and August fell on my face
Summer nourished, junior high then destroyed
I choked on a too-late solid cement phrase
I want you, I want you but I’m never brave!
Now I just freeze when I fail to avoid you

Are all my parts in the right place?
Thank God the bell rang and i made my escape
Too many knees left to scrape, goldfish and grapes
Pretending I was wishing that I‘d blossomed too late

Ten years later
You conjured a milkshake
The look on your face screamed,
“You made a mistake mistake!”
I swear, no one has ever looked so happy to see me
No one has ever, EVER looked so happy to see me
How could anyone possibly be that happy to see me?
It seems I never really understood the stakes

Are all my parts in the right place?
Thank God the bell rang and i made my escape
Too many knees left to scrape, goldfish and grapes
Pretending I was wishing that I‘d blossomed too late

*image not my own

 

