There’s this new word I’ve learned: Lucida
The brightest star of the constellation
Sounds like Lucifer but also like Luck
You’re brilliant and blinding to my consternation

The devil certainly stands out from the crowd
Like something all holy and dear Lord you’re sexy
My very own demonic angel
Oh how I love to flaunt your need for me

You pay a price when you play
with a Dark Prince who pretends

That he’s all divine
But the stars still align
On thundercloud nine
Where vice reigns sublime

A most unwelcome salvation, my clothes torn to shreds
Your light kills my eyes but I’m hungry for pain
We’ll never do this again, I mean it each time
It feels just like heaven to see the hurt on your face

It seems you always forget you have wings
You’re fallen, still falling, black, blue and true
Hellfire choking on your own smoke
God how I love to bait and provoke you

You pay a price when you play
with a Dark Prince who pretends

That he’s all divine
But the stars still align
On thundercloud nine
Where vice reigns sublime

How many blessings can one sinner take?
You’re a shadow that shines and it’s making me spin
So I sought a refuge that made much more sense
My low earthly stint and your wings in a splint

How do you wrong a creature that’s wrong to begin with?
So good at pretending to be hard and regal
So good you duped even yourself
You fooled me too so I torched your cathedral

Your searing heat
Made your darkness delicious
All your dusks and your twilights
Turned your blaze sacrilegious

You pay a price when you play
with a Dark Prince who befriends

A darkness and light
That combine to outshine
The serpents inherent to holy design
Love’s merely a cloud
of black butterflies
Bliss spiked with affliction
That suits me just fine

*image not my own

