If hyperventilation worked I would
But I’ve had to bate my breath before
Never more than I thought I could
Call me darling, call me whore

I bare my burden, cement my smile
As my lungs collapse covertly
I desperately outwit you and all the while
All I want are your hands on my body

Bearing down on the wrong kind of crisis
My heart is racing in all the wrong ways
I’ll just tuck you away,
Thank you very much,
You can keep your quicksand abrasive embrace.

Better than than a slap in the face
Yet sometimes a slap like that doesn’t sting
Seriously though, it’s my heart that hurts
The past repeats, righteous sin of a thing

Better that than give into grace
Yet sometimes what’s right has its own satisfaction
But honestly, pleasure’s just the lack of pain
Or maybe I’m just spinning to get your attention

Had my dignity til they told me I’d lost it
Surprise and I lost it a few times more
I’d give it to you running and call you a culprit
Call me darling, call me whore

I think you think I did it on purpose
Pause for a second and it’s painfully clear
I’m trying so damn hard to be earnest but
I’m suffocating sincerely in this atmosphere

I can see you wanting me when you think I’m not watching
I can see you lying with your bait-and-switch gaze
So I’ll just sit here, forget you
Please leave me be
You can keep your albeit magnetic mistake

Better than than a slap in the face
Yet sometimes a slap like that doesn’t sting
Seriously though, it’s my heart that hurts
The past repeats, righteous sin of a thing

Better that than give into grace
Yet sometimes what’s right has its own satisfaction
But honestly, pleasure’s just the lack of pain
Or maybe I’m just spinning to get your attention

I saw you. I died. Hyperbole.
“I want your hands on me?!?” Puh-leeze.
I’ll blasphemy you up and down for free because
My secret’s a secret so obviously
See?

Or maybe I’m just spinning to get your attention
Or maybe I’m just spinning to get your attention

*image not my own

